Skip to main content

Staff in the Birkbeck Business School

Head of Birkbeck Business School

Academic staff

Professional and support staff

Operations and administration

Learning development tutors

Associated staff

Emeritus professors

  • Philip Dewe, Emeritus Professor of Organizational Behaviour: Philip Dewe's research covers the areas of work stress and coping, particularly the appraisal process and its role in the coping process, and he has an interest in human resource accounting and the importance of this to human resource professionals.
  • Helyette Geman, Emerita Professor of Mathematical Finance
  • John Kelly, Emeritus Professor
  • Klaus Nielsen, Emeritus Professor
  • Philip Powell, Emeritus Professor
  • Anne Sibert, Emerita Professor of Economics: Anne Sibert's main research and policy interests are central bank design, public finance, and financial regulation. She is a member of the London Times Shadow Monetary Policy Committee. She was an external member of the Monetary Policy Committee of the Central Bank of Iceland, the Panel of Economic and Monetary Experts for the European Parliament's Committee for Economic and Monetary Affairs and the Council of Economic Advisors to the Opposition Front Bench.
  • Ron Smith, Emeritus Professor of Applied Economics: Ron Smith taught at Cambridge 1972-76, joined Birkbeck in 1976 and became an emeritus Professor in 2023. He has been a visiting Professor at London Business School and the University of Colorado at Boulder. His research interests include applied econometrics, defence economics and political economy.
  • Anita Walsh, Emeritus Professor



  • Rob Briner
  • Grazia Ietto-Gillies
  • Gail Kinman, Visiting Professor of Occupational Health Psychology
  • Asa Lindholm Dahlstrand
  • Carlo Milana
  • Jonathon Potter

Visiting Research Fellows

  • Ulrike Fasbender
  • Mr Ray Lambert
  • Professor Jihong Lee
  • Dr Linjie Li
  • Dr Simon Philbin
  • Professor Thierry Rayna
  • Dr Juan Paramio Salcines
  • Dr Anastasia Stathopoulou
  • Mr Rupert Waters

Teaching and scholarship staff: Associate Lecturers (Management)

  • Seyi Adesina
  • Dabir Ahmed
  • Fahema Ahmed
  • Rizwan Ahmed
  • Alban Asllani
  • Riccardo Benzo
  • Sumeet Chahal
  • Magda Hercheui
  • Peter Hirsch
  • Asif Kalam
  • Kofi Narh-Saam
  • Daniel Neofetou
  • Lilian Onuegbu
  • Mary Otiotio
  • Davide Padovani
  • Mark Panton
  • Edwin Phiri
  • Nabil Rafiq
  • Saverio Romeo
  • Peter Ross
  • Megan Sullivan
  • Ariel Sun
  • Jennifer White

Affiliated faculty (Economics)


  • Khalid Bin Waleed, Postdoctoral Researcher
  • Kevin Cheng
  • Thomas Cox
  • Alistair Cumming
  • Nancy Doyle
  • Jacek Dybczak
  • Roger Fagg
  • Shafag Garayeva
  • Sali Hallsworth
  • Susan Kahn, Visiting Academic
  • Alyson Kelleher
  • Kirsty Lauder, Graduate Teaching Assistant
  • Joyce Mamode
  • Alan Redman, Visiting Teaching Fellow
  • Ebere Dike Ugwu
  • Adrian Ward