Skip to main content

Our staff

Staff categories

Find staff in Birkbeck's Department of English, Theatre and Creative Writing. 

Head of department 

Academic staff 

Open Library of Humanities 


  • Isobel Armstrong, Fellow of the College: Isobel Armstrong is a Fellow of the British Academy, Senior Research Fellow of the Institute of English Studies and Professor Emeritus of what is now the Geoffrey Tillotson Chair. During her time at Birkbeck, she founded the London Seminar for Nineteenth-Century Studies and the Centre for Nineteenth-Century Studies. During retirement she has taught at the universities of Harvard and Johns Hopkins and spoken at international conferences. She is also a published poet. Visit Isobel Armstrong's fellows page.
  • Laurel Brake, Professor Emerita of English Literature and Print Culture: Visit Laurel Brake's fellows page or .
  • Sandra Clark: After retiring from Birkbeck in 2006, Sandra Clark became Acting, Deputy Director and then Director of the Institute of English Studies, School of Advanced Study, University of London until 2012. Her special interest is in Shakespeare and early modern drama and popular literature. She is the author of six books and numerous articles and chapters in books and is also the Series Editor of the Arden Shakespeare Dictionaries.
  • Alison Finlay, Honorary Life Member of the College: Visit Alison Finlay's profile.
  • Hilary Fraser: Hilary Fraser came to Birkbeck in 2002 to take up the Geoffrey Tillotson Chair of Nineteenth-Century Studies. As Director of the Centre for Nineteenth-Century Studies, Hilary was the founding editor of its online journal, 19: Interdisciplinary Studies in the Long Nineteenth Century. She is a published author and has written monographs on the Victorians and Renaissance Italy, aesthetics and religion in Victorian writing, nineteenth-century non-fiction prose, and gender and the Victorian periodical. She has been President of the British Association for Victorian Studies since 2015. .
  • Tom Healy
  • Russell Celyn Jones: Russell Celyn Jones set up the MA Creative Writing course at Birkbeck in 2003 and was its director for 12 years. His short fiction has been anthologised around the world and Soldiers and Innocents was serialised on BBC Radio 4. He has been a freelance feature writer for the Observer, Guardian, Independent, Time Out and Sunday Times, and a book reviewer for The Times for 15 years. Prizes he has judged include the Man Booker Prize, The Royal Society of Literature Ondaatji Prize and the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. He also chaired the annual Man Booker event at Birkbeck.
  • Peter Mudford
  • Mpalive-Hangson Msiska, Reader in English and Humanities: visit Mpalive-Hangson Msiska's profile.
  • Michael Slater, Fellow of the College: Michael Slater is one of the most highly regarded scholars of nineteenth-century literature. From 1958 to 1977 he edited The Dickensian and he served as president both of the International Dickens Fellowship and of the Dickens Society of America. He has always been actively involved in the affairs of Dickens House Museum. Michael worked and taught continuously at Birkbeck for 36 years and has taught and lectured in the US, across Europe, Australasia and the Far East.
  • Colin Teevan: Professor of Playwriting and Screenwriting, Colin teaches writing for stage screen and radio at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Colin's stagework has been performed all over the world. He is a long term collaborator with many of the world’s foremost theatre practitioners including Kathryn Hunter, Sir Peter Hall, Hideki Noda, Walter Meirjohann and Dalia Ibelhauptaite. Colin has written more than ten full-length plays for BBC Radios 3 and 4 including the award-winning Glass Houses (2007). 


  • Daniel Brown, Visiting Professor
  • Laura Cushing-Harries, Associate Research Fellow
  • Tom Dillon, Associate Research Fellow
  • Sasha Dovzhyk, Associate Research Fellow
  • David Gillott, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Tobias Harris, Associate Research Fellow
  • Hallvard Haug, Associate Research Fellow
  • Judith Hudson, Associate Research Fellow
  • Paul Ingram, Associate Research Fellow
  • Robyn Jakeman, Associate Research Fellow
  • Douglas Kerr, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Michael Lewis, Honorary Research Fellow
  • James Machin, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Sarah Lightman, Honorary Research Fellow 
  • Susan Matthews, Associate Research Fellow
  • Sean O'Brien, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Zoe Playdon, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Michael Robertson, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Henghameh Saroukhani, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Steven Spencer, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Michael Warren, Honorary Research Fellow

Study skills and learning support advisor 

Administrative staff 

  • , Assistant School Manager for English, Theatre and Creative Writing
  • , Team Leader for English, Theatre and Creative Writing
  • Esther Ranson, Programme Administrator for the BA English, BA Arts and Humanities, BA Liberal Arts, MA Medieval Literature and Culture, MA Renaissance Studies, MA Victorian Studies, and MA Applied Medical Humanities
  • Annmarie Shadie, Programme Administrator for the BA Creative Writing, BA Creative Writing and English, MA Creative Writing, MFA Creative Writing, and MA Creative and Critical Writing
  • , Programme Administrator for MFA Theatre Directing, BA Theatre Studies and English, BA Theatre and Drama Studies, MA Text and Performance, MA Dramaturgy, MA Modern and Contemporary Literature, MA Cultural and Critical Studies, MA Contemporary Literature and Culture, and MA Migration Literatures and Cultures
  • Anthony Shepherd, Team Leader for the MPhil/ PhD Research
  • For any queries, please us.