Skip to main content

About us

The Accounting and Finance Research Centre (AFRC) is based in the Birkbeck Business School. The main goal of the AFRC is to advance research impact by connecting researchers with practitioners in accounting and finance.

AFRC organises research seminars and a thematic annual conference and regularly hosts visiting scholars. The Centre also has a working paper series and invites research papers in the subject area of accounting and finance.

The Centre is actively seeking PhD research students in accounting and finance to create new knowledge with impact and excel in their academic and business careers. Please contact the Centre's director professor Emmanuel Mamatzakis for further information.

Our team

Our members are academics in the Birkbeck Business School, associates in the Faculty of Business and Law, as well as external associates from a wide range of universities and corporations worldwide.

Birkbeck academic members

External associates

  • Fernando Avalos, Bank of International Settlements
  • Anna Bagntasarian, Bank of England
  • Theo Bermpei, Essex Business School
  • George Christodoulakis, Allien Manchester Business School
  • Manthos Delis, Montpelier Business School
  • Bruce Hearn, Southampton Business School
  • Fotios Pasiouras, Montpelier Business School
  • Timothy King,  University of Vaasa
  • Levent Kultu, University of Texas
  • Subal Kumbhakar, SUNY Binghampton
  • George Kapetanios, King's Business School
  • George Leledakis, Athens University of Business and Economics
  • Leone Leonida, King's Business School
  • Sushanta Mallick, QMUL
  • Dr Panagiotis Pegkas, School of Science, University of Thessaly
  • Christos Staikouras, Athens University of Economics and Business
  • Nick Travlos, Surrey Business School
  • Christos Triantopoulo, Centre of Planning and Economic Research (KEPE)
  • Nick Tsitsianis, QMUL
  • Mike Tsionas, Lancaster University
  • Kien Tran, University of Lethbridge
  • , University of Naples Parthenope

Advisory (honouree) board

  • Yannis Stournaras, Professor, Govrenor, Bank of Greece
  • Jonathan Haskel, Professor, Imperial Business School, member of the Bank of England's Monetary Policy Committee (MPC), CERP, IZA
  • Steven Ongena, Professor Department of Banking and Finance at the University of Zurich, Swiss Finance Institute, KU Leuven, and CERP