Skip to main content

Staff in the Birkbeck Law School

Our academic staff are recognised as experts in their fields and approach law in an innovative way, introducing students to a vibrant research culture.

Head of Birkbeck Law School


  • Professor Bill Bowring Professor of Law, Programme Director LLM/MA Human Rights, Director of Mooting
  • Henrique Carvalho Lecturer in Law, Teaching and Scholarship Staff Coordinator, International Student Coordinator
  • Dr Guido Comparato Senior Lecturer in Law, Programme Director LLM Intensives 
  • Dr Fred Cowell Lecturer in Law, Assistant Dean for International and Recruitment, Disability Officer
  • Professor Marinos Diamantides Professor of Law and Political Science, PGT Dissertations Coordinator, Director of Studies (Law), Programme Director LLM Constitutional Law, Politics and Theory
  • Dr Başak Ertür Senior Lecturer in Law, Co-Director Postgraduate Research
  • Professor Michelle Everson Professor of Law, LLM QLD Programme Director & Admissions Tutor
  • Professor Adam Gearey Professor of Law
  • Professor Oscar Guardiola-Rivera Professor of Human Rights and Political Philosophy, Director of Postgraduate Taught Programmes
  • Dr Piyel Haldar Senior Lecturer in Law
  • Dr Olivia Hamlyn Lecturer in Law, Law LLB PT Admissions Tutor, Programme Director LLM Environmental Law and Policy 
  • Professor Patrick Hanafin Professor of Law, Law LLB QLD Tutor Year 2
  • Dr Bernard Keenan Lecturer in Law, Law LLB with Foundation Year Programme Director (Term 1), Programme Director LLM Law and Technology
  • Dr Sarah Keenan Reader in Law, Co-Director Postgraduate Research, ESRC Doctoral Training Programme Pathway Lead
  • Dr Kojo Koram Lecturer in Law, Disability Officer (Academic Lead), Programme Director Law LLB
  • Dr Elena Loizidou Head of Department, Reader in Law and Political Theory, Law LLB QLD Tutor Year 1 (Spring and Summer Terms)
  • Professor Fiona Macmillan Professor of Law, Programme Director LLM International Economic Law, Justice and Development
  • Dr Susy Menis Lecturer in Law, Programme Director Cert HE Legal Studies, BSc Criminology and Criminal Justice Admissions Tutor, CertHE in Criminology Admissions Tutor
  • Professor Daniel Monk Professor of Law, Assistant Dean for Equalities, Coordinator of Links with the Legal Profession, Careers Director
  • Dr Nathan Moore Senior Lecturer in Law, Law LLB QLD Tutor Year 1 (Autumn Term)
  • Professor Stewart Motha Professor of Law
  • Dr Craig Reeves Lecturer in Law, Examinations Officer
  • Professor Renata Salecl Professor in Psychology/Psychoanalysis and Law
  • Dr Maria Tzanakopoulou Lecturer in Law, Law LLB with Foundation Year Programme Director, Law LLB Full-Time and Law LLB with Foundation Year Admissions Tutor

Professional and support staff


Teaching and scholarship staff

Emeritus professors

  • Professor Maria Aristodemou: Maria joined the school as a senior lecturer in law in April 2000. She is Assistant Dean for International Links and Enterprise, helping to develop co-operation agreements between the Law School and universities in Hong Kong, Brazil and Australia. She is also Director and Admissions Tutor for the LLM General. Maria's current research explores the intersections between legal and psychoanalytic theory and practice, particularly in its Lacanian manifestations. She is on the Advisory Board for a new series of monographs on Critical Studies in Law and the Humanities to be published by Edinburgh University Press.
  • Professor Costas Douzinas: Professor Douzinas was a member of the team that established the Law Department in 1992 and was Head of Department from 1996 to 2002. Costas has created two new inter-disciplinary areas of research: a distinct school of British critical legal thought, and the turning of legal scholarship towards ethical concerns and aesthetic considerations, namely research on law and visuality. He is a visiting Professor at the University of Athens and has held visiting posts at the Universities of Paris, Thessaloniki and Prague. In 1997 he was awarded a Jean Monnet fellowship by the European University Institute, Florence. In 1998 he was a visiting fellow at Princeton University and at the Cardozo School of Law. In 2002, he was a Fellow at Griffith University, Brisbane and at the Universities of Beijing and Nanjing.
  • Professor Les Moran: Professor Moran joined the School of Law in 1998 and was head of the school from 2002 to 2005. He has written and researched extensively on matters relating to sexuality and law, criminal justice - with particular reference to hate crime - law and visual culture and the judiciary. Professor Moran is a member of several editorial boards including Law and Society Review, Law and Critique, Liverpool Law Review and the Macquarie Law Journal, and is principle investigator on the Judicial Images Network.

Visiting and honorary staff

  • Behrouz Boochani, Visiting Professor
  • Justice Edwin Cameron, Visiting Judge - formerly South African Supreme Court of Appeal
  • The Rt Hon. the Lord Etherton QC, Fellow of Birkbeck - former Master of the Rolls
  • Mehmet Ercan, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Naheed Ghauri, Associate Research Fellow
  • Professor Avery F. Gordon, Visiting Professor - Department of Sociology, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Dr. Jur. Ruth Herz, Visiting Professor - former judge at the court of Cologne, Germany; member of the Judicial Images Network
  • Angela Jackman, Visiting Judge
  • Professor Christian Joerges, Associate Research Fellow - Fellow and Member of the Centre for European Law and Politics, University of Bremen (ZERP)
  • Dr Eduardo Moreira, Visiting Research Fellow
  • Margia Mostafa, Visiting Lawyer
  • Mr Cian Murphy, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Suresh Nanwani, Honorary Research Fellow - Lead Counsel (Human Resource) Asian Development Bank
  • Miranda Pennell, Artist in Residence
  • David Ruebain, Visiting Professor
  • Marty Slaughter, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Omid Tofighian, Honorary Research Fellow
  • Carey Young, Honorary Research Fellow