Skip to main content

Our staff

staff categories 

These are our Birkbeck staff categories within the Department of Politics. 

Assistant Dean 

Academic staff 

Sessional teaching / Post-doctoral Research staff

Emeritus staff

  • Diana Coole: Professor of Political and Social Theory: Diana Coole's broad area of research is modern and contemporary political and social theory. Her work has focused on the critical theory of the early Frankfurt School and its influences (Hegel, Marx, Nietzsche, Weber), existential phenomenology (Merleau-Ponty in particular), poststructuralism (especially Foucault) and feminism. Within this field, Coole has become interested in developing a flexible critical theory (that includes genealogy, deconstruction, the phenomenology of everyday - and visceral - life, interpretive public policy, discourse analysis, ideology critique and radical political economy) and applying it to current social and political issues. .
  • Joni Lovenduski: Professor Emerita of Politics: Joni Lovenduski is Anniversary Professor of Politics, has been a Fellow of the British Academy since 2007 and was elected an Academician of the Academy of Social Sciences in 2009. She is Chair of the Editorial Board of Political Quarterly and a member of the editorial boards of British Politics, The British Journal of Political Science and French Politics. Lovenduski has two main strands of current research interests: political representation and the development and implementation of equality policy in the UK and the European Union. .
  • Sami Zubaida: Emeritus Professor of Politics and Sociology

Visiting staff

Administrative Staff