Skip to main content

Our staff

Staff Categories

A full list of staff categories at Birkbeck's Department of Management. If you have a query about studying with us or require further information about the department, please contact us via phone or email.

Head of Department

  • Libon Fung, Senior Lecturer in Accounting and Finance

Deputy Head of Department

Academic staff

Professional and Support Staff

Support Staff

Postgraduate Team

Undergraduate team

Learning Development Tutors

Associated Staff

Honorary Research Fellows

  • Professor Brij B. Gupta (website)
    Brij B. Gupta is a Director, International Center for AI and Cyber Security Research and Innovations, and Full Professor with the Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering (CSIE), Asia University, Taiwan. His research interests include cyber security, cloud computing, artificial intelligence, intrusion detection, blockchain technologies, cyber physical systems, social media and networking.

Visiting Professors

  • Professor Grazia Ietto-Gillies
    Grazia Ietto-Gillies is Emeritus Professor of Applied Economics and Director of Centre for International Business Studies (CIBS), London South Bank University. She works closely with colleagues in the CIMR carrying out empirical research set at the interface between internationalisation and innovation studies. Their joint research led to numerous publications in peer reviewed journals and reports for the United Nations and the European Commission.
  • Professor Asa Lindholm Dahlstrand
    Asa Lindholm Dahlstrand is a professor at CIRCLE, Lund University, and was formerly at the School of Business and Engineering, Halmstad University, Sweden. She is an internationally recognised expert in entrepreneurship and technology transfer. She was awarded a PhD in the Department of Industrial Management and Economics, Chalmers University of Technology in 1994. Since then she has held a number of positions at Chalmers, is a member of the management team of RIDE (R&D, Innovation and Dynamics of Economies), a Centre of Excellence at IMIT/Chalmers, having been Director of RIDE for three years.
  • Professor Carlo Milana
    Carlo Milana is formerly Research Director of the Public Economic Policy Institute (ISAE). He has led several important projects there, often in collaboration with the European Commission and other international organisations such as the OECD. Dr Milana is now in London for a European Commission research project on productivity. He is the Managing Editor of Strategic Change: Briefings in Entrepreneurial Finance.
  • Profssor Jonathon Potter
    Jon Potter is Senior Economist in the Centre for Entrepreneurship, SMEs and Local Development (CFE) at the OECD. His work for the OECD includes in-depth analysis and policy development for governments around the world such as Korea, Thailand, Russia and Mexico. He is a member of the Big Innovation Centre steering group. He is on the Editorial Board of Strategic Change: Briefings in Entrepreneurial Finance and is a Fellow of the Institution of Economic Development and a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society.

Visiting Research Fellows

  • Dr Simon Philbin
  • Mr Ray Lambert
  • Dr Linjie Li
  • Professor Thierry Rayna
  • Dr Juan Paramio Salcines
  • Dr Anastasia Stathopoulou
  • Mr Rupert Waters
    Rupert Waters is an economic geographer who is both an academic and a public policy research and management practitioner. He is Head of Economic Research and Infrastructure, Buckinghamshire Business First. He leads Buckinghamshire’s responses to all Government economic development polices, including securing Local Enterprise Partnership status for Buckinghamshire, and bringing together theory and local and national data to lobby Ministers for policy support in meeting the economic challenges facing Buckinghamshire. He previously worked as a consultant at Deloitte, KPMG, and GLE. His academic and policy work has focused particularly on Regional and Local economic development strategy, scientific labour markets, innovation, technology and higher education, and urban and rural regeneration analysis.

Teaching and Scholarship Staff: Associate Lecturers

  • Seyi Adesina
  • Dabir Ahmed
  • Fahema Ahmed
  • Rizwan Ahmed
  • Alban Asllani
  • Riccardo Benzo
  • Sumeet Chahal
  • Magda Hercheui
  • Peter Hirsch
  • Asif Kalam
  • Kofi Narh-Saam
  • Daniel Neofetou
  • Lilian Onuegbu
  • Mary Otiotio
  • Davide Padovani
  • Mark Panton
  • Edwin Phiri
  • Nabil Rafiq
  • Saverio Romeo
  • Peter Ross
  • Megan Sullivan
  • Ariel Sun
  • Jennifer White