Skip to main content

School activities for students

Students at all levels of legal and criminology study are encouraged to take part in the School's extracurricular activities.


Birkbeck's School of Law runs a highly successful mooting programme, open to all law and criminology students.

Mooting is a centuries-old form of advocacy training. It should be of interest to anyone wishing to practise advocacy of any kind, whether as a solicitor, barrister or for any other reason. The School of Law's mooting programme is conducted by two experienced practising barristers and Birkbeck alumni, Philip King and Clare Dowse.


  • The programme is split between mooting (civil jurisdiction) and mock trials (criminal) with internal competitions for both. It also prepares teams to compete against other institutions in external competitions. 
  • A team from Birkbeck’s School of Law won the Oxford University Press and Inns of Court College of Advocacy (ICCA) National Mooting Competition 2017-18 and in 2019, another Birkbeck team triumphed in the finals of the Landmark Chambers’ Property Law Moot competition, held at the Royal Courts of Justice.



The School of Law established a Writer in Residence programme in 2010, with the appointment of its first writer, Professor Timothy Campbell. The programme was established to assist research students with the process and craft of writing.

The Writer in Residence programme enables a three-week period of residence for a scholar who has achieved distinction in the field of critical theory, to support the development of the whole or part of a major scholarly work.

Through a series of seminars with PhD students and staff, recipients of the fund will work through the theoretical, empirical and methodological questions that arise in the writing process.

The success of this programme led to the establishment in 2013 of a further programme, the Artist in Residence.


  • 2022 Samera Esmeir (University of California, Berkeley)
  • 2019 Anthony Alessandrini (Kingsborough Community College-CUNY) 
  • 2017 Jodi Dean (Hobart and William Smith Colleges)
  • 2016 Lewis Gordon (University of Connecticut)
  • 2015 James Martel (San Francisco State University)
  • 2014 Phillipe Van Heute (Radbound University, Nijmegen)
  • 2013 Professor Avery Gordon (University of California, Santa Barbara)
  • 2012 Professor Catherine Malabou (Kingston University)
  • 2010 Professor Timothy Campbell (Romance Studies, Cornell)