Reload writLOUD home page


As of July 2010, this site is no longer being maintained. For current writLOUD information, please see the Writers' Hub.


writLOUD logo

writLOUD text is a monthly readings event showcasing both new writers from Birkbeckís Creative Writing courses and established authors.

Guest authors to date include Jonathan Coe, Derek Johns, Hari Kunzru, Susan Elderkin, ZoŽ Fairbairns, Russell Celyn Jones, Peter Hobbs, Benjamin Markovits, Erica Wagner, Marie Phillips, Kate Pullinger, Helen Simpson, Richard T. Kelly, Jeremy Sheldon, Sarah Salway, Jean McNeil, Rich Hall, Julia Bell, Richard Milward, Emer Martin, Blake Morrison, Nii Parkes, Robert Hudson, Amanda Smyth, Chloe Aridjis, Magnus Mills, A. L. Kennedy, Niall O'Sullivan, Alex Preston, Toby Litt, Amanda Craig, Matthew Hooton, Monique Roffey, Michael Rosen, Mez Packer, and Jill McGivering.

writLOUD text takes place on the second or third Monday of every month.

Explore the site to find out more.

Next event

Monday 13 September 2010, 6.30-8.15 pm, RADA Foyer Bar, Malet Street, London WC1E 7JN.

Our guest writer is Jonathan Coe, whose latest novel, The Terrible Privacy of Maxwell Sim, was published in May. Author of 8 previous novels and winner of the 2005 Samuel Johnson Prize for Like A Fiery Elephant, his biography of B. S. Johnson, Jonathan will be reading from work in progress.

Admission is free of charge, but with a suggested donation to Oxfam of £3.50.

To reserve places in advance, email us at


Oxfam charity number: 202918