Skip to main content

About us

Based in the Birkbeck Business School, the Birkbeck Centre for Applied Macroeconomics (BCAM) promotes research in macroeconomics and monetary economics. 

The Centre organises regular seminars and annual workshops and we host visiting scholars and researchers from across the world. The Centre also has a working paper series, which is freely available to all. 

Our Members 

Our members are academics and MPhil/PhD research students in the Birkbeck Business School, as well as a wide range of external associates from universities, banks and corporations worldwide. 

Departmental Associates 


  • Raphael Brun-Aguerre, J.P.Morgan Western Europe Economic Research
  • Veronika Akhmedieva (CRU)
  • Piergiorgio Alessandri, Economist, Bank of Italy 
  • Henrique Basso, Economist, Bank of Spain 
  • Federico Di Pace, Senior Economist, Bank of England 
  • Ourania Dimakou, Lecturer in Economics, School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) 
  • John Driffill, Professor of Economics, Yale University 
  • Anthony Garratt, Professor of Economic Modelling and Forecasting, Warwick Business School
  • Richard Harrison (Bank of England)
  • Alexander Karalis Isaac, Teaching Fellow, Department of Economics, University of Warwick 
  • Hubert Kempf, Associate Member, Ecole d'économie de Paris 
  • Giovanni Melina, Economist, International Monetary Fund (IMF) 
  • Vincenzo Merella, Assistant Professor of Economics, University of Cagliari 
  • Haroon Mumtaz, Professor of Economics, Queen Mary, University of London 
  • Andrea Nocera, Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of Southern California 
  • Marco Pelliccia, Heriot Watt University
  • Ekaterina Pirozhkova, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of Pretoria
  • Francesco Salsano, Research Fellow, University of Milan
  • Issam Samiri (National Institute of Economic and Social Research, London)
  • Lasse de la Porte Simonsen, External Consultant, Macrosynergy Partners
  • Carolyn St Aubyn
  • Angeliki Theophilopoulou, Senior Lecturer in Pensions and Finance, University of Westminster 
  • Marian Vavra, Advisor to the Governor and Senior Economist, Research Department of the National Bank of Slovakia 
  • Stefania Villa, Assistant Professor of Economics, University of Foggia 
  • Francesco Zanetti, Associate Professor, University of Oxford 
  • Paul Wohlfarth (Solbridge International School of Business, South Korea)

Advisory Board

  • Paul De Grauwe, Chair in European Political Economy, London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) 
  • Paul Levine, Professor of Economics, Surrey University 
  • Hashem Pesaran, John Elliott Distinguished Chair in Economics and Professor of Economics, University of Southern California 
  • Volker Wieland, Endowed Chair of Monetary Economics, Institute for Monetary and Financial Stability 

MPhil/PhD Students 

  • Federico Corrado
  • Ozde Kurter
  • Shahzeb Mohammed
  • Rubens Morita
  • Filipe Pires de Albuquerque