Skip to main content


Entry requirements

Find out which qualifications will be recognised in your Birkbeck application.


  • Applicants from Australia can apply for direct entry onto Birkbeck’s undergraduate degrees. Australian students require a High School Certificate/Senior Secondary Certificate of Education (specific state qualifications named below) and an appropriate ATAR score of at least 83.00 or an Overall Position (OP) of 9.
    • Australian Capital Territory: Australian Capital Territory Year 12 Certificate
    • New South Wales: Higher School Certificate (HSC)
    • Northern Territory: Pre-2012 Northern Territory Certificate of Education (NTCE), Post-2012 Northern Territory Certificate of Education and Training (NTCET)
    • Queensland: Pre-2009 Queensland Senior Certificate, Post-2009 Queensland Certificate of Education (QCE)
    • South Australia: Post-1984 South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE)
    • Tasmania: Tasmanian Certificate of Education (TCE)
    • Victoria: Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE)
    • Western Australia: Western Australia Certificate of Education (WACE).
  • The 2-year Associate Diploma is considered comparable to a BTEC National Diploma, and holders will be considered for direct entry to Bachelor's degree courses.
  • Holders of a 3-year Diploma will be considered for exemptions to the first year of undergraduate degree courses (see second year entry below).
    • A-level AAA = 144 UCAS tariff points = comparable offer 97.50 (apart from Queensland), 2 (Queensland)
    • A-level AAB = 136 UCAS tariff points = comparable offer 96.00 (apart from Queensland), 3 (Queensland)
    • A-level ABB = 128 UCAS tariff points = comparable offer 92.00 (apart from Queensland), 4/5 (Queensland)
    • A-level BBB = 120 UCAS tariff points = comparable offer 87.00 (apart from Queensland), 6/7 (Queensland)
    • A-level BBC = 112 UCAS tariff points = comparable offer 85.00 (apart from Queensland), 8 (Queensland)
    • A-level BCC = 104 UCAS tariff points = comparable offer 83.00 (apart from Queensland), 9 (Queensland)
    • A-level CCC = 96 UCAS tariff points = comparable offer 80.00 (apart from Queensland), 10 (Queensland).


  • Applicants from Australia typically need:
    • Bachelor’s Honours degree from a recognised university
      • For programmes requiring a 2:1: Second Class Honours Division A (Class II-A/H2A) or equivalent
      • For programmes requiring a 2:2: Second Class Honours Division B (Class II-B/H2B) or equivalent
    • OR a Bachelor’s degree from highly ranked HE institutions with Distinction/High Distinction (this degree is equivalent to a UK Bachelor’s ordinary degree) is accepted at the discretion of the department.
  • Please note that all applications are considered on an individual basis and students may be admitted to Master's programmes with a lower level degree if they have work experience relevant to the degree applied for.
  • Australian degree classification:
    • First Class (alternative name: N/A; English translation or equivalent: 1st; 80-100%)
    • Second Class (Upper Division) (alternative name: Division A or Division 1; English translation or equivalent: 2:1; 70-79%)
    • Second Class (Lower Division) (alternative name: Division B or Division 2; English translation or equivalent: 2:2; 60-69%)
    • Third class (English translation or equivalent: Third class; 50-59%).

Research degrees 

  • The usual entrance requirement for a research degree is a Master's from a recognised Australian university; Some departments may also accept students with a very good Bachelor’s degree.
  • Applicants are strongly urged to contact potential supervisors within the department before submitting a research application.

Find out about our international scholarships.