Skip to main content

Alec Rodger Memorial Lecture

Since 1983, the annual Alec Rodger Memorial Lecture honours the influence of one of the founding members of Birkbeck's former Department of Organizational Psychology. The invited speakers are distinguished individuals who have made a demonstrable impact on organisations in academia, public service and commerce.

The lecture series is funded by the T. Ritchie Rodger Research Fund, which is managed by the British Psychological Society (BPS). The fund was set up by Alec Rodger, the first Professor of Occupational Psychology at Birkbeck, in memory of his father.

Alec Rodger Memorial Lecture 2023

Professor Stephen Frosh, Birkbeck, University of London: Dreaming of War

Previous Lectures

  • 2022 - Professor Rob Briner, Queen Mary, University of London: 'Evidence-based practice is easy to understand so why is it so difficult to do?'
  • 2021 - Professor Sally Maitlis, Saïd Business School, University of Oxford: 'Hidden from View: Leading with Depression and Anxiety
  • 2019 - Professor Michelle Ryan, University of Exeter: 'The glass cliff: Understanding the precariousness of women's leadership positions'.
  • 2018 - Professor Evangelia Demerouti, Eindhoven University of Technology: 'Is job-crafting a way to stimulate effective functioning? (video)'.
  • 2017 - Professor Ellen Ernst Kossek, Professor of Management, Krannert School of Management: 'New frontiers in work-family research: a vision for the future in a global world'.
  • 2016 - Dame Sandra Dawson DBE, Professor of Management Studies, University of Cambridge: 'Bridging the gap - from Weber to where? (video)'.
  • 2015 - Professor Lynda Gratton 'How our world will change - and what it means for us'.
  • 2014 - Adrian Moorhouse MBE: 'What can business learn from sport?'.
  • 2013 - David MacLeod: 'Engage for success: putting people at the heart of our approach'.
  • 2012 - Professor Andrew Pettigrew OBE, Professor of Strategy and Organisation, Saïd Business School, University of Oxford: 'Scholarship with impact'.
  • 2011 - Tom Cox CBE, Professor of Occupational Health Psychology and Management, Birkbeck: 'Resilience: people, organisations and their communities'.
  • 2010 - Professor Dame Carol Black DBE, Principal of Newham College, University of Cambridge: 'Maintaining the health and wellbeing of the working age population'.
  • 2009 - Stephen Fineman, Professor Emeritus, School of Management, University of Bath: 'Getting critical about emotion'.
  • 2008 - Mary Chapman, Chief Executive, Chartered Management Institute: 'Management futures: fit to lead tomorrow's organisations?'.
  • 2007 - David Guest, Professor in Organisational Psychology and HRM, King's Business School: 'The psychological contract: was it ever worth taking seriously?'.
  • 2006 - Toby Wall, Emeritus Professor, Sheffield University: 'Management practices and company performance: a policy perspective'.
  • 2005 - Professor Colin Mackay, University of Nottingham: 'Psychology in health and safety: research, policy and action'.
  • 2004 - Sir Cary Cooper CBE, Professor of Organizational Psychology, University of Manchester: 'The disposal workforce'.
  • 2003 - Will Hutton, Principal, Hertford College, University of Oxford: 'Companies on the cusp'.
  • 2002 - John Arnold, Professor of Organisational Behaviour, Loughborough University: 'Matching person to occupation in career choice'.
  • 2001 - Professor Binna Kandola OBE, Pearn Kandola: 'Managing diversity, dealing with prejudice'.
  • 1999 - John Burgoyne, Professor of Management Learning, Lancaster University: 'The Learning Company ten years on: what have we learned?'.
  • 1998 - Lord Monks, Labour Peer, House of Lords: 'What about the workers at the millennium?'.
  • 1997 - Nigel Nicholson, Emeritus Professor of Organisational Behaviour, London Business School.
  • 1996 - Karen Legge, Professor of Organisational Behaviour, Warwick Business School: 'Human resource management and ethics'.
  • 1995 - Edward E. Lawler, Professor of Business, University of Southern California.
  • 1994 - Sir Stephen Tumin, Her Majesty's Chief Inspector of Prisons for England and Wales: 'What are prisons about?'.
  • 1992 - Joanna Foster CBE, Chair, Equal Opportunities Commission.
  • 1991 - Roger Williams CBE, Professor of Hepatology, King's College London.
  • 1990 - Henry Mintzberg, Professor of Management Studies, McGill University: 'Managerial work revisited'.
  • 1989 - Professor Mike Cooley, Director of Technology, Greater London Enterprise Board (GLEB).
  • 1988 - Chris Argyris, Professor of Education and Organizational Behavior, Harvard Business School.
  • 1987 - Judson Graham Day, Chairman, Rover Group: 'Organizational development strategy'.
  • 1986 - Enid Mumford, Professor of Organizational Behaviour, University of Manchester.
  • 1985 - Peter Warr, Professor of Work Psychology, University of Sheffield.
  • 1984 - Professor Charles J. de Wolff, Organizational Psychologist.
  • 1983 - Denis Pym, author and editor: 'Beyond rationality and employment'.