Skip to main content

Organisational structure

Birkbeck is led by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Sally Wheeler OBE, supported by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and four Pro-Vice Chancellors. Birkbeck is made up of three faculties and a number of professional services departments, all of which report to the Vice-Chancellor.

View Birkbeck's organisational structure (PDF).

Faculty of Business and Law

The Faculty of Business and Law comprises Birkbeck Business School and Birkbeck Law School. 

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

The Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences is made up of three schools and one centre: the School of Creative Arts, Culture and Communication; the School of Historical Studies; the School of Social Sciences and the Birkbeck Centre for Counselling.

Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science contains three schools: the School of Computing and Mathematical Sciences; the School of Natural Sciences; and the School of Psychological Sciences. 

Professional Services

The efficient running of Birkbeck is supported by the professional services departments. These include:

  • Development and Alumni
  • Estates and Facilities
  • External Relations
  • Finance
  • Human Resources
  • Information Services
  • Planning and Strategic Projects
  • Registry Services

The work of the Access and Engagement team is overseen by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor but the team is managed by the College Secretariat.