Document Actions

Executive Board

The School Executive Board is the primary decision making body in the School. It has collective responsibility for the School budget and strategic plan, and has responsibility for setting operational and other budgets for all activities within the School.

Members of the Executive Board 2017/18 are:

  • Melissa Butcher, Assistant Dean - Recruitment;
  • Rosie Campbell, Assistant Dean - Postgraduate Research (spring & summer terms)
  • Alex Colas, Head of Department, Politics and Assistant Dean - Retention;
  • Rosie Cox, Head of Department, Geography and Assistant Dean - Research;
  • Matthew Davies, Executive Dean, School of Social Sciences, History and Philosophy
  • Jill Entwistle, School Manager, SSHP
  • Dermot Hodson, Assistant Dean - Learning and Teaching, and Assistant Dean - Postgraduate Research (autumn term);
  • Julia Lovell, Assistant Dean - International
  • Robert Northcott, Head of Department, Philosophy
  • Bojana Petric, Head of Department, Applied Linguistics and Communication
  • Jan Rueger, Head of Department, History, Classics and Archaeology
  • Bruna Seu, Head of Department, Psychosocial Studies


Social mobility takes centre stage during guest address delivered at annual celebration of the College's founding.

Professors Sarah Childs and Rosie Campbell were among an independent group of parliamentary experts who made recommendations for the future of the National Assembly for Wales.