Document Actions

2017-18 Geography Prize Winners

The ‘East’ and ‘Henderson’ prizes are awarded from a group of endowments known collectively as the Unified Trust Fund which all pre-date 1994.

The WG East Fund, instituted in 1970. On the retirement of Prof WG East (Head of Geography Department 1947/70), students and friends contributed to a fund set up to endow an annual prize in his name.  Purpose: Annual award to an undergraduate student in 1st /2nd year showing great promise in Geography.

These are the winners for the academic year 2017-18

Henderson Prize winner

Rebecca Gooda: “I am thoroughly enjoying the Geography BSc course at Birkbeck which reinforces the magnitude of the impact that both physical and human geography has on our everyday lives and how it shapes not only the physical world but the social and economic environment that the human system thrives in.”

Best Geography/Environmental dissertation prize winner

Lisa Howard: "I’m delighted to have received this prize as it’s the perfect closure to my treasured time at Birkbeck. Throughout my four years of study, the teaching in the Department of Geography has been excellent; the lecturers’ expertise and support have provided me with the knowledge, intellectual tools and inspiration to pursue a postgraduate research degree in sustainable consumption. Birkbeck has changed the course of my life towards an exciting new career".

East prize winner

Rupert Acton