Governance and Committees | Officers of the College
Document Actions

Officers of the College

The College President

  • The College President is Baroness Joan Bakewell DBE. She has been appointed by the Governors to carry out this important, honorary ambassadorial and  ceremonial role at Birkbeck.


  • The Vice-President is The Rt Hon the Lord Mayor of the City of London


  • The Master, Professor David S Latchman CBE, is the chief academic and administrative officer of the College. He has responsibility to the Governors for its finances, for promoting and maintaining the efficiency, good order and development of the College. Under the Financial memorandum with HEFCE, the Master is the designated office-holder for the College.
  • Supporting roles: In his responsibility for the day-to-day management of Birkbeck and in his role as the representative of Birkbeck on a wide range of organisations, the Master is assisted by the Vice-Master Professor Matthew Innes and the Pro-Vice Masters (see below). He also works closely with Keith Harrison, the College Secretary and Clerk to the Governors.


  • The Vice-Master, Professor Matthew Innes, acts as deputy in the Master's absence and has executive and management responsibilities.

Secretary and Clerk to the Governors

  • The College Secretary and Clerk to the Governors, Keith Harrison, is the Head of administration and professional services at the College. He works closely with the Master to ensure the efficient administration of the College and with the Chair of Governors and the Governing Body to ensure effective governance and oversight of the College.

College Dean

  • The Dean, Dr Kate Mackenzie Davey, exercises a pastoral and ombudsman role on behalf of College staff and students

Pro-Vice Masters

  • The Pro-vice Masters are appointed by Governors for fixed terms, and each has responsibility for a specific portfolio

Current Pro-Vice Masters:

Executive Deans

School Directors of Operations / School Managers

  • School of Arts - Director of Operations : Wendy Knowles
  • School of BEI - Director of Operations : Andreas Schmidt
  • School of Law - School Manager : Adam Towner
  • School of SSHP - Director of Operations : Jill Entwistle
  • School of Science - Director of Operations : Dr Clare Woodward

School of Arts Assistant Deans and Assistant School Managers

School of Social Sciences, History and Philosophy Assistant Deans and Assistant School Managers

School of Science Assistant Deans and Assistant School Managers

School of Business, Economics and Informatics Assistant Deans and Assistant School Managers

School of Law Assistant Deans and Assistant School Managers