Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Document Actions

Officers of the College


  • The President is appointed annually by the Governors and plays an honorary and largely ceremonial role.
  • Current President: Baroness Joan Bakewell DBE



  • The Master is the chief academic and administrative officer of the College, head of both the academic and the administrative staffs of the College and is Warden of the Students’ Union. He has responsibility to the Governors for its finances, for promoting and maintaining the efficiency, good order and development of the College. Under the Financial memorandum with HEFCE, the Master is the designated office-holder for the College.
  • Supporting roles: In his responsibility for the day-to-day management of Birkbeck and in his role as the representative of Birkbeck on a wide range of organisations, the Master is assisted by the Vice-Master Professor Matthew Innes and Pro Vice-Masters (see below). He also works closely with Keith Harrison, the College Secretary and Clerk to the Governors.
  • Current Master: Professor David S Latchman


  • The Vice-Master is appointed by the Governors for a term of office of five years from among the Professors on the recommendation of the Master after consultation with the Academic Board. He/she acts as deputy in the Master's absence and has executive and management responsibilities. The Vice-Master also carries out the duties associated with one of the Pro-Vice-Masters' portfolios (see below). Download information on the Vice Master's role.
  • Current Vice-Master: Professor Matthew Innes


Secretary and Clerk to the Governors

  • The Secretary and Clerk to the Governors, who is the legal representative of the College, is responsible to the Master for the central administration and services, which are sub-divided into a number of sections whose senior officers are responsible to the Master through the Secretary.
  • Current Secretary and Clerk to the Governors: Keith Harrison, BA


  • The Dean is appointed by the Governors for a term of office of five years from among the Professors on the recommendation of the Academic Board. He/she exercises a pastoral role on behalf of College staff and students.
  • Current Dean: Dr Kate Mackenzie Davey

Executive Deans

School Managers

Assistant Deans

Management structure

Follow us