Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Document Actions

Fellows of the College

Honorary Fellowships are awarded to individuals who:

  • have attained distinction in the arts, literature, science or public life
  • have rendered exceptional service, which may include philanthropic support, to Birkbeck
  • have or have had a close association with Birkbeck

Fellowships are awarded at our annual graduation ceremonies, where the College Orator presents them to the Birkbeck community with a formal oration.


Mr Richard Agutter

Professor Francis Ames-Lewis, BSc, MA, PhD

Professor Isobel Armstrong, BA, PhD, FRSA

Professor Paul Barnes

The Rt Hon Lord Barnett, PC, JP

James Berry, OBE

Professor Michel Blanc

The Rt Hon Baroness Blackstone, BSc(Soc), PhD, HonDLitt, HonDUniv, HonLLD
Professor Sir Tom Blundell, BA, DPhil, FRS
Professor Donald Bradley, BSc, PhD, DSc, FRS, CChem, FRSC
Professor Avtar Brah
Professor Laurel Brake
Dr Paul Brickell

Baroness Brinton

Brian T Buckle, BA

Sir Ian Byatt

Dr Michael Byrne

Sir Clive Callman, BSc(Econ)

Sir Neil Chalmers, BA, PhD

Alison Chitty OBE

Sir Anthony Cleaver, MA, HonLLD, HonDSc

Professor Steven Connor

Professor Sir David Cox, MA, PhD, FRS, HonDSc

B H Chibnall, BSc

Professor Peter R Crane, BSc, PhD, FRS

Mary Curnock Cook, OBE

Edward Davey, BA, MSc, MP

His Honour Judge Thomas Dewar, BPharm, BSc, PhD

Professor Philip Dewe

Frank Dobson MP

Dame Vivien Duffield, DBE, MA, HonDLitt, HonDPhil, HonRCM

Professor Sir John Enderby, CBE, BSc, PhD, FRS

Dame Elizabeth Esteve-Coll, BA, ALA, HonDArt

Professor Sir Richard J Evans, MA, DPhil, LittD, FRHistS, FBA

Professor Sir Roderick Floud, MA, DPhil, FRHistS

Professor Roy Foster, PhD, FRSL, FRHistS, FBA

Dame Julia Goodfellow, CBE, PhD, FMedSci, FIBiol

Professor Samuel Guttenplan

Professor D W Hamlyn, MA

Laurence Harbottle, MA

Professor Barbara Hardy, MA, DUniv, FRSL

Dr Brian Harwood

The Rt Hon Lord Healey of Riddlesden, CH, MBE, MA, HonDLitt, HonLLD

Sir Terence Heiser, KCB

Professor E J E Hobsbawm, CH, MA, PhD, HonPhilDr, HonDHL, HonLittD, HonDLitt, HonPhD, FBA

Tom Hoffman

Professor Glyn Humphreys

Professor Michael Hunter

Professor Barry Ife, CBE, PhD

Jack Jacobs

Ron James, BSc, PhD

Dr Mary-Lou Jennings, BA, MA, PhD

Dr Roger Johnson

Emeritus Professor Peter King

Sir Aaron Klug, OM, FRS

Sir Peter Lampl, OBE, MA

Sir Alan Langlands FRSE Hon FMedSci

Drummond Leslie

The Baroness Lockwood of Dewsbury, HonDLitt, HonDSc

Professor James Lovelock

Christine Mabey, OBE, BA, PhD

Dame Mavis Macdonald

Neil MacGregor, DUniv, HonDLitt, HonFBA

Professor Alan MacKay, BSc, MA, PhD, DSc, FRS

Denis MacShane, PhD, MP

Professor William Marslen-Wilson, BA, PhD, FBA

Dame Judith Mayhew Jonas, DBE, LLM

John McDonnell MP

Sir Kit McMahon, Chevalier de l’Ordre de la Légion d’Honneur

Mr John Middleton

Professor Peter Mortimore, OBE, BSc, MSc, PhD

Lord Moser, KCB

Professor David Moss, BSc, PhD

Lord Gulam Noon

Professor Glaucius Oliva, President, Brazil National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq)

Sir Timothy M M O’Shea, BSc, PhD

College oration word format

Professor W G Overend, PhD, DSc, CChem, FRSC, DUniv

Mr Trevor Pears CMG

Sir Roger Penrose, OM, FRS

Garth Pollard

Professor David Rhind, CBE, FRS, FBA

Rev'd Brian Roberts, BA, BTh, FRSA

Baroness Sharp of Guilford, MA

Dame Stephanie Shirley, DBE, BSc, FBCS, CBIM, CEng

Professor Michael Slater, MA, DPhil

Baroness Smith of Gilmorehill, MA

Lord Sutherland of Houndwood, MA, HonLLD, HonDLitt, FBA, FRSE

Professor Laurie Taylor, BA

Dame Janet Thornton, CBE, PhD, FRS

Baroness Valentine of Putney, Chief Executive, London First

Emeritus Professor William Vaughan

Sir Robin Wales

Steve Walker, BSc (Brist), PhD (Lond)

Katherine Webb, MA, MPhil

Sarah Weir OBE
Peter Westley

Professor Michael Wise, CBE, MC, PhD, HonDSc, DUniv, FRGS, HonFLI

Emeritus Professor Mary Wood

Emeritus Professor Sami Zubaida