Skip to main content

Dr Rachel Seiffert

  • Overview



    Rachel Seiffert has published four novels, A Boy in Winter, The Dark Room, Afterwards, and The Walk Home, and one collection of short stories, Field Study.  Her novels have been shortlisted for the Booker Prize, the Dublin/IMPAC Award, and longlisted three times for the Women’s Prize for Fiction, most recently in 2018. In 2003, she was named one of Granta’s Best of Young British novelists, and in 2011, she received the EM Forster Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Currently teaching at Birkbeck, Rachel has been visiting lecturer  at the Humboldt University Berlin, University of Manchester, and Spalding University in the USA, amongst others; Royal Literary Fund Fellow at Goldsmiths College; and a writer in residence in four London secondary schools for First Story.  

    Web profiles

  • Supervision and teaching

    Supervision and teaching


    Teaching modules

    • Writing and Reading Seminar (ENHU036S7)
    • Writing Workshop (ENHU039S7)