Skip to main content

Department of Biological Sciences receives Athena SWAN Bronze Award at Oxford ceremony

Professor Carolyn Moores was presented with the award which recognises the hard work of all in the department behind this achievement.

In December 2015 Professor Carolyn Moores and Dr Belinda Brooks-Gordon attended the Athena SWAN awards ceremony at Oxford University’s Examination Schools.

Professor Moores collected the award on behalf of the Department of Biological Sciences and said: ‘We are thrilled that our work towards gender equality has been recognised by Athena SWAN. We hope to build on the inspiring legacy of eminent women scientists in the Department to allow future female leaders to flourish here, and we are looking forward to putting our plans into action to benefit everyone.

Dr Belinda Brooks-Gordon, Assistant Dean for Equalities in the School of Science, commented: ‘It is wonderful for the School of Science to have received its first departmental award. We are proud of Professor Carolyn Moores, of Professor Gabriel Waksman, who chairs the Self-Assessment Team, and of all staff working in Biological Sciences. They have worked hard to reflect their department and to bring about the change that earned this award. They deserve this moment. The Athena SWAN journey is a necessary and satisfying one. We are working across the School of Science to bring about further change and hope that the wider progress is reflected in future awards.

The award was presented by Professor Dame Julia Higgins, FRS, FREng, and will be displayed at Birkbeck as an inspiration to other departments.

Further information

Women in Biological Sciences

Athena SWAN Charter


[Photo (from left to right): Dr Belinda Brooks-Gordon, Professor Dame Julia Higgins and Professor Carolyn Moores. Photo by John Cairns.]

More news about: