Skip to main content

Capturing socio-economic diversity in global child health and neuro-diverse populations

Starts:
Finishes:
Venue: Online

Book your place

Please note: this event will take place online via Blackboard Collaborate. A link will be emailed to attendees 24 hours before the event. The link will be valid for both days.

List of speakers:

  • Petrus de Vries, University of Cape Town, Centre for Autism Research in Africa
  • Przemek Tomalski, Polish Academy of Sciences, Institute of Psychology
  • Emma Boswell Dean, University of Miami, Miami Herbert Business School
  • Lorena Fuentes and Tara Patricia Cookson, UCLA’s International Institute, and Ladysmith (ladysmithcollective.com), International Development Studies
  • Elaine Unterhalter, UCL Institute of Education, University College London (TBC)

This conference aims to promote active discussion around which socio-economic indicators are being used in child development research.

Representation and diversity in child development and neurodevelopmental research is critical for maximising the impact of research for global populations, and especially for neurodiverse groups such as autistic individuals.

Socioeconomic indicators are complex and represent a composite of socio-educational factors, variably influenced by culture, that can have substantial effects on life trajectories and outcomes. By bringing together researchers from a diverse range of disciplines and research settings, we can bring to light key points about the way we currently measure socioeconomic factors within the field of child global health and develop new standards to improve how we conduct our research.

In this conference, we will discuss how we can use different research methodology (qualitative and quantitative), how we can learn from each other to improve the way we assess socio-economic factors across research disciplines, and therefore, how we can understand its impact in child development and global health.

Our overall aim is to generate research questions from these topics, and create a network of researchers for future collaborations.

 

Conference timings:

25th November: 10am – 1.15pm (GMT) / 11am – 2.15pm (CET) / 3.30pm – 6.45pm (IST) / 5am – 8.15am (EST) 

26th November: 2pm – 4.35pm (GMT) / 3pm – 5.35pm (CET) / 7.30pm – 10.05pm (IST) / 9am - 11.35am (EST)

Contact name:

Speakers