



CHASE Committees and Birkbeck

This document outlines existing Birkbeck committee membership for the AHRC funded CHASE DTP2.

CHASE DTP2 Committees

All participating institutions have representatives on <u>CHASE committees</u> as part of governance for the DTP. Birkbeck is currently represented by the following members of staff.

- CHASE Management Board
 <u>Professor Hallvard Lillehammer</u>, Department of Philosophy, SSHP
 These meetings are also attended by Tim Hoe (BGRS Manager)
- Training & Development Group
 Dr Silvia Posocco, Department of Psychosocial Studies, SSHP
- CHASE Strategy Board
 Professor Julian Swann, Pro-Vice Chancellor Research

Birkbeck recruitment and selection: College panel

Each institution within CHASE is required to identify a shortlist of applications to be put forward to the relevant <u>CHASE selection panel</u>.

Prior to consideration by CHASE, Birkbeck applications are considered in 3 stages: by Departments, by Schools and then by a College Panel who select a maximum of 17 Birkbeck applications to go forward for consideration by CHASE. Applications are considered in relation to CHASE selection criteria.

Membership of the College Panel is agreed by the Executive Deans of Arts, SSHP and Law in consultation with the PVM Research. <u>CHASE selection panel</u> members are drawn from membership of the College Panel. The College panel members for 2022/23 entry are:

- Basak Ertur (School of Law)
- Catharine Edwards (School of Social Sciences, History and Philosophy)
- Dermot Hodson (School of Social Sciences, History and Philosophy)
- Jasmine Gideon (School of Social Sciences, History and Philosophy)
- Fiona Candlin (School of Arts)
- Emma Sandon (School of Arts)
- Dorota Ostrowska (School of Arts)
- Emily Senior (School of Arts)
- Luisa Cale (School of Arts)

Internal Birkbeck CHASE meetings

Within Birkbeck there are College-wide meetings to discuss CHASE and these take place twice per year; usually in the Autumn and Summer Term. These College-wide meetings deal with internal aspects of our involvement with CHASE and identify issues to be raised by Birkbeck representatives at the CHASE Committees. The meetings are chaired by Julian Swann as PVM Research with the following attendees invited to attend.

Details	School	Department
Alex Colas	SSHP	Politics
Basak Ertur	Law	Criminology
Ben Gidley	SSHP	Psychosocial Studies
Bojana Petric	Arts	Languages, Cultures and Applied Linguistics
Catharine Edwards	SSHP	History, Classics and Archaeology
Dermot Hodson	SSHP	Politics
Dorota Ostrowska	Arts	Film, Media and Cultural Studies
Emily Senior	Arts	English, Theatre and Creative Writing
Hallvard Lillehammer	SSHP	Philosophy
Janet McCabe	Arts	Film, Media and Cultural Studies
Jasmine Gideon	SSHP	Geography
Jean-Marc Dewaele	Arts	Languages, Cultures and Applied Linguistics
Jessica Reinisch	SSHP	History, Classics and Archaeology
Joe Brooker	Arts	English, Theatre and Creative Writing
Julian Swann	College	History, Classics and Archaeology
Kate Retford	Arts	History of Art
Lisa McEntee-Atalianis	Arts	Languages, Cultures and Applied Linguistics
Luciana Martins	Arts	Languages, Cultures and Applied Linguistics
Lynda Nead	Arts	History of Art
Michael Garnett	SSHP	Philosophy
Nik Wachsmann	SSHP	History, Classics and Archaeology
Robert Maniura	Arts	History of Art
Roger Luckhurst	Arts	English, Theatre and Creative Writing
Sappho Xenakis	Law	Criminology
Scott Rodgers	Arts	Film, Media and Cultural Studies
Steve Edwards	Arts	History of Art
Sue Wiseman	Arts	English, Theatre and Creative Writing
Suzannah Biernoff	Arts	History of Art