Skip to main content

Our staff

staff categories 

These are our Birkbeck staff categories within the Department of Applied Linguistics and Communication. 

Head of Department 

Academic Staff 

Applied Linguistics and Communication Teaching and Scholarship Staff

Higher Education Introductory Studies Teaching Staff

Senior Practitioner Fellow

  • Dr Beverley Costa
    • After training as an individual counsellor and psychotherapist, Dr Beverley Costa set up Mothertongue multi-ethnic counselling service (2000-2018) to meet a gap she observed, in services for multilingual clients. In 2009 she created a pool of mental health interpreters within Mothertongue and in 2010 she formed the national Bilingual Therapist and Mental Health Interpreter Forum. In 2013, she established “Colleagues Across Borders”: a project in which professionals offer peer support, pro bono and via remote platforms, to refugee psychosocial workers and interpreters based mainly in the Middle East and Eastern Europe. She founded The Pásalo Project in 2017 to disseminate learning from Mothertongue. With Professor Jean-Marc Dewaele, she won the 2013 British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy, Equality and Diversity Research Award. Beverley has delivered training and supervision to statutory and voluntary sector health and social care organisations for the past two decades. She received funding from the National Lottery and the Arts Council to produce two anthologies of interpreters’ stories and a play about a couple in a cross-language relationship, for the Soho Theatre, London. She co-founded the performance group of interpreters, Around the Well, in 2018. In 2020, she received funding from the Paul Hamlyn Foundation to create an e-learning resource on multilingualism and mental healthHer book Other Tongues - psychological therapies in a multilingual world was published in 2020 by PCCS Books. 

Administrative team for Applied Linguistics and Communication

Administrative team for Academic English and Language Development

Administrative team for Higher Education Introductory Studies

Honorary research fellows 

  • Professor Penelope Gardner-Chloros
  • Dr Malcolm Edwards
  • Dr Kate Hammer
  • Dr Carmen Pena Diaz
  • Dr Martha Carswel Pennington
  • Dr Darlene Clover
  • Dr Sally Cook
  • Dr Budd Hall
  • Dr Irini Mavrou
  • Dr Peter Neff
  • Dr Liana Pavalescu
  • Dr Louise Rolland
  • Dr Kazuya Saito
  • Aihui Wu
  • Dr Lynne Flowerdew
  • Professor John Flowerdew