Birkbeck UCU | Committee

Document Actions

Branch Committee

UCU Committee meets once a month. All members are welcome to attend. If you would like to find out more about the union, come along to a meeting or contact our administrator, Julia on 

Your branch officers are elected at the AGM which is held each year towards the end of the summer term.

You can find a list of forthcoming committee meetings here. If you want to speak to a particular member of the present committee you can contact them as follows:


Joint Presidents:

John Kelly (academic)

0207 631 6646


Simon Deville


John Kelly

0207 631 6646


Rebecca Gumbrell-McCormmick


Nick Pronger

0203 073 8368

Health & Safety

Richard Carabine

0207 631 6464

Learning Rep

Eva Szatmari

T&S Staff

Eleni Liarou

Paddy McDaid

Welfare Rep

Rebecca Gumbrell-McCormick

0207 631 6777 

Andi Fugard



Other Committee Members


Mike Berlin 

Trevor Fenner

Sophie Hope

Ashok Kumar

Tanya Serisier

Paul Watt






UCU Committee and Representatives are active members of the union who volunteer their time because they believe union work is important - to the benefit of Birkbeck as an institution, its staff and students, and to the health of society generally.

The union will only be as good as you help to make it, so we invite you to get involved!