Document Actions



Johnson County Community College: Campus Sculpture Collection
Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art
Johnson County Community College
12345 College Blvd
Overland, Kansas 66210
Tel: (+ 1) 913 469 3000

Johnson County Community College’s 240 acre college campus hosts over 40 sculptures by internationally recognized artists in what Public Art Review listed as one of the Top Ten US campus collections in 2006. At the main entrance to the college is a substantial outdoor sculpture by Clement Meadmore. Other sculptures included are by Barry Flannagan, Magdeleana Abakanowicz, Anthony Gormley, Dennis Oppenheim, Louise Bourgeois, Judith Shea, Barbara Cooper and DoHo Suh.

 The sculpture collection is supported in part by the Oppenheimer Foundation of Kansas City.


Ulrich Museum of Art: Martin H. Bush Sculpture Collection
Wichita State University
1845 Fairmont Street
Wichita, KS 67260-0046
Tel: (+ 1) 316 978 3664

Wichita State University’s 330 acre campus has more than 70 pieces of sculpture on display and was listed in Public Art Review’s Top Ten US campus collections in 2006. Works from the sculpture collection are also displayed in the University’s Grafly Gardens and Kouri Sculpture Terrace. Internationally acclaimed artists include Tom Otterness, Henry Moore, Joan Miro, Fernando Botero, Louise Nevelson, Auguste Rodin, Claes Oldenburg and Andy Goldsworthy.

Nationally recognized photographer Larry Schwarm created an eloquent photo-essay of WSU campus interaction with the outdoor sculpture collection in the museum’s 2010 collection catalogue, “Art of Our Time: Selections from the Ulrich Museum of Art, Wichita State University.”

Online tour of the collection:


Wichita Art Museum  
1400 West Museum Blvd
Wichita, KS 67203 
Tel (+ 1) 316 268 4921

In addition to being the largest art museum in the state of Kansas, the museum houses one of the finest collections of American art.  The permanent collection features  work by Mary Cassatt, Winslow Homer, Edward Hopper and Charles M. Russell.

Sculptures displayed on the grounds of the museum from the permanent collection include work by Tom Otterness, Richard Hunt, Douglas Abdell, Steve Kestrel, Stanley Boxer, David E. Bernard , Isaac Witkin and Henry Moore.

The museum is open Tuesdays to Saturdays from 10am to 5pm, and Sundays from 12pm to 5pm. Admission is charged.



Back to top of page



Johnson County Community College, Overland, KS, USA

Johnson County Community College, Overland, KS, USA

Bookmark this page