Dept of Psychological Sciences | Our staff | Professor Naz Derakhshan | Teaching and research supervision
Document Actions

Teaching and research supervision

Winner of the Outstanding Project Supervisor Award 2017

Winner of the Outstanding Lecturer Award 2018

I have been passionate about teaching Statistics since my years as a PhD student. I have played a leading role in enhancing and transforming the student learning experience of statistics and research methods in psychology at Birkbeck through my responsibility for major research methods courses at the undergraduate level since 2004 and graduate levels since 2014. I have also acted as a consultant statistician on various grant applications. In 2012, based on excellent student feedback and learning experience of Statistics and Research Methods, I was nominated by Birkbeck for a National Teaching Fellowship Award.

I usually supervise a number of MSc and BSc students interested in issues relating to cognitive control impairments in emotional vulnerability.

Current PhD students

Bethany Chapman 2018 - 2021 Building longer term neurocognitive health in women with breast cancer upon returning to work (+3 ESRC funded)

Jana Brinkert 2017 - 2020 Working memory capacity in autism (Bloomsbury Studentship)

Patricia Beloe 2017 - 2020 Working memory capacity and emotional vulnerability in adolescents (+3 ESRC funded)

Jessica Swainston 2015- 2019 Improving cognitive health towards resilience and psychological flexibility in breast cancer survivors (1+3 ESRC funded)

Manu Ducrocq 2014 - 2018 Neurocognitive mechanisms behind sports performance and cognitive training (1+3 ESRC funded)

Previous researchers

Dr Berna Sari (former PhD student: Flemish Research Council funded joint with the University of Ghent)

Dr Nick Berggren (former PhD student: 1+3 ESRC funded)

Dr Max Owens (former PhD student: Departmental studentship)

Dr Laleh Ansari (former PhD student: 1 + 3 ESRC funded)

Dr Leor Shoker (former post-doc researcher)

Dr Miles Hansard (former post-doc researcher)

Dr Tom Campbell (former post-doc researcher)

Moshe Feldman (former post-doc researcher)

Sarah Kolvenbach (visiting researcher)

Ronan O'Cealleigh (visiting researcher)

Dr Andreas Schwertdfeger (visiting researcher)

Dr Evi De Lissnyder (visiting researcher)

Dr Toni Pacheco Unguetti (visiting researcher)



I am course director of the Advanced Quantitative Methods Master's course (2014 - )

I was course director for the 26-week second-year Research Methods course (RM II) (2004 - 2012)

I teach on the MSc in Cognitive Neuroscience