This annual prize will be awarded to an outstanding undergraduate or postgraduate Birkbeck student who has excelled in contributing to the understanding of cultural policy, especially by looking at cultural flows, cultural work (including internships), and equality and justice in the cultural sector.

The prize is in honour of our dear colleague Lorraine Lim who passed away in September 2017. Lorraine worked on cultural policy and creative industries from the perspective of cultural flows (conditioned by artists’ activism, censorship and cultural trade) and broadened her interest to areas such as creative labour, internship policies and networks in the cultural sector. We would welcome tutors’ submissions of student work that follows this line of enquiry in cultural policy studies.

The prize-winning essays will be made public on this website. The first awards will be made on 13 September 2018 and in subsequent years the first prize will be awarded at the Birkbeck graduation ceremony.

We are asking tutors to nominate suitable work. Only submissions that have already been assessed internally are eligible.

Selection criteria

  • Demonstrable interest in Cultural Policy and related fields (0-5 marks)
  • Relevance to the fields of enquiry mentioned above (0-5 marks)
  • Originality of the essay (0-5 marks)
  • Potential contribution to enhancing the knowledge pool in Cultural Policy Studies (0-5 marks)
  • Meeting of academic style guidelines, including spelling, grammar, citation and referencing (0-5 marks)

Judging panel

The work will be judged by a panel with the following members:

  • Hye-Kyung Lee (King’s College London)
  • Sophie Hope and Simone Wesner (Arts Management team)
  • Janet McCabe and Emma Sandon (FMACS)
  • Leonard Lim (Lorraine’s brother)

Submission deadline: 13 September 2018, 18:00h

Meeting date: 12 October 2018
Prize: One first prize of £500 p.a. and a runner up prize of £100

Open to: Birkbeck BA and MA students (college-wide)

Tutors should email this form and the nominated essay to: