Skip to main content

English language ability for Tier 4 visa holders

Applicants who need a Tier 4 visa have a specific set of requirements, to comply with Home Office regulations.

Your English language ability will be sufficient if you meet one of the following criteria:

  • You are a national of a majority English-speaking country (see list below).
  • You have completed a qualification at a level comparable to RQF 6 that was awarded and taught in a majority English-speaking country (see list below), completed within three years of admission to the College. Non-Canadian nationals with a degree from Canada will be required to take an English language test.
  • You have completed one of the following English language tests:
    • Cambridge Certificate of Advanced English
    • Cambridge Certificate of Proficiency in English
    • IELTS Academic and IELTS Indicator 
    • INTO Test of English: IELA
    • OnCampus Test of English: OCTOE
    • Pearson’s Test of English (Academic)
    • TOEFL: IBT and TOEFL Special Home Edition
    • Trinity College London: Integrated Skills in English.
  • Your IELTS, IELA, OCTOE, Pearson's, TOEFL or Trinity result must be less than two years old when your Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS) is issued.


  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • New Zealand
  • Republic of Ireland
  • St Kitts and Nevis  
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America