Document Actions

Research roles

Professional associations


Membership of national and international advisory committees

Active memberships

  • Chair COSPAR Sub-Commission B3: The Moon (2017-2020)
  • European Space Agency (ESA) Human Spaceflight and Exploration Science Advisory Committee (HESAC; 2014-)

Past memberships

    • Observer, UK Space Agency (UKSA) Science Programme Advisory Committee (SPAC; 2011-2015)
    • Member, European Space Sciences Committee (ESSC) of the European Science Foundation (2008-2015)
    • Member, ESA Lunar Exploration Development Team (LEDT; 2009-2013)
    • Member, and Co-Chair, of the Site Selection Working Group for the proposed International Lunar Network (ILN; 2008-10)
    • Chair, MoonLITE Scientific Working Group (2008-9)
    • Member, ESA Scientific Definition Team for proposed MoonNEXT mission (2007-8)
    • Member, UK Space Exploration Working Group (2007)
    • Member, NASA-BNSC Joint Working Group on Lunar Exploration (2007)
    • Chair, International Science Team for the Chandrayaan-1 X-Ray Spectrometer (C1XS; 2006-2012)
    • Member, ESA-ESSC 'Ad Hoc Group' on the scientfic exploration of space (2006-7)
    • Member, ESA Human Spaceflight Vision Group (HSVG; 2003)
    • Member (later Chair), PPARC's Time Allocation Committee for the Anglo-Australian Telescope (1999-2003; Chair: 2001-2003)

Organisation of national and international scientific meetings