Skip to main content

Our staff

Staff categories 

These are our Birkbeck staff categories within the Department of Geography.

Head of department

  • Melissa Butcher, Assistant Dean, Professor in Social and Cultural Geography

Academic staff 

Teaching and scholarship staff

Honorary Research Fellows

Professional Support staff 

  • General Enquiries - email 
  • Chrys Papaioannou - Administrator
    • Development and Globalisation (BSc) 
    • Geography and International Development (BSc)
    • Social Sciences (BSc) 
    • Children, Youth and International Development (MSc)
    • Cities (MA/MSc)
  • Laura Gittens - Administrator
    • Environment and Sustainability (BSc)
    • Environmental Management (BSc)
    • Geography (BSc)
    • Human Geography (BA)
  • Hurmine Dormer-Dobson Administrator
    • Community Leadership (CertHE)
    • Community Development and Public Policy (BSc)
    • Geographic Data Science (MSc, PGDip, PGCert) 
    • Geographic Information Science (MSc, PGDip, PGCert) 
    • Geography, Environment and Development Studies (MPhil, PhD)
  • Shirley Collins – Senior Administrator
    • Climate Change (MSc, PGDip, PGCert)
    • Environment and Sustainability (MSc, PGDip)
    • Geography (MSc, PGDip, PGCert)
    • International Development (MSc, PGDip, PGCert)
    • International Development and Social Anthropology (MSc, PGDip)
    • Social and Cultural Geography (MA)
  • Megan Bennett - Team Leader