You are here: Department of Biological Sciences / About us / External recognition
Document Actions

External recognition: awards and prizes


Professor Bonnie Wallace: AstraZeneca Award (2010)

  • Professor Wallace was awarded the AstraZeneca Award 2010 in honour of her work on the development of new CD techniques for studying membrane proteins, for the creation of new methodologies for analyses of protein structures, and for the demonstration of new applications of SRCD in Structural Molecular Biology.


Professor Alan L. Mackay, FRS: Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize (2009)

  • Professor Alan L. Mackay, FRS was awarded the Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize for his pioneering contributions to the theory of quasicrystals, including the prediction of their diffraction pattern

Professor Helen Saibil, FRS: Fellow of The Academy of Medical Science (2009)

  • Fellows of the Academy are elected on the basis of exceptional contributions to the medical sciences, either in the form of original discovery or of sustained contributions.

Professor Bonnie Wallace: Interdisciplinary Prize of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2009)


Professor Gabriel Waksman: Fellow of The Academy of Medical Sciences (2008)

  • Professor Gabriel Waksman was one of forty new fellows to be admitted to The Academy of Medical Sciences on 24 June 2008. The Admission ceremony took place at the Royal Society. Fellows are selected for their exceptional contribution to the advancement of medical science and are the United Kingdom’s leading medical scientists from hospitals, academia, industry and the public service.

Dr Sanjib Bhakta: Fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine (2008)

Professor Graham Goldsworthy: Honorary Fellowship, The Royal Entomological Society (2008)


Gabriel Waksman elected to EMBO November 2007

  • Professor Gabriel Waksman was elected to the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO), one of 50 EMBO members selected annually on the basis of scientific excellence; joining this community of leading scientists is a tribute to his significant contribution to the advancement of science.

Professor Michael Thompson: Harvey W. Wiley Award (2007)

  • For: contributions to understanding and regulating the quality of data in analytical chemistry. The award has rarely been made outside North America
  • Awarding body: AOAC International


Carolyn Moores wins award at House of Commons event for National Science Week (2006)

  • Carolyn Moores is this year's winner of the prestigious De Montfort Medal for excellence in science communication. Dr Moores, from Birkbeck's School of Crystallography, competed with her peers at the House of Commons in a research presentation for National Science Week for Britain's top younger scientists, engineers and technologists on Monday 13 March.
  • Dr Moores, who is a BBSRC David Phillips Fellow, says: “I was extremely surprised but delighted to receive this award. All the presentations at the event were excellent. I learnt a lot from talking to the other presenters, so I am sure that the judges' decision was very difficult.” Describing her award-winning work, Dr Moores says: “The human brain is built from billions of specialised cells called neurons. During brain development, they undertake an amazing journey so they can get to the right place at the right time and make the correct connections. Various molecules are needed to help neurons find their way. In particular, components of the cytoskeleton - the skeleton of cells - are centrally involved. Mutations in the doublecortin gene severely affect this migration and cause the disease lissencephaly in humans, resulting in mental retardation and epilepsy. Therefore, doublecortin, a component of the microtubule cytoskeleton, is essential but its exact function is unclear.”
  • To understand its function better, Dr Moores and her team have used a number of experimental approaches that include biochemistry and electron microscopy. “Using electron microscopy, we are able to calculate a molecular map of doublecortin bound to microtubules and this helps us to understand how they work together. Our results help to explain why doublecortin is an essential molecule during brain development.”
  • She continues: “I'm lucky to be part of a great team of scientists working in this field of research and we all rely on and learn from each other. It is exciting for our work to be recognised and I am proud to be able to raise the profile of research at Birkbeck. It was a privilege to present my work at the Houses of Parliament – it's important to take every opportunity to talk about what we do and why we do it to a non-scientific audience.”
  • This is the eighth year of National Science Week, where Britain's younger researchers present posters at Westminster on leading-edge science, engineering, medicine and technology research and compete for national awards. These events are very popular with researchers, MPs, peers and other visitors and help engender better dialogue among MPs, early-stage researchers and UK's research communities.

Professor Helen Saibil, FRS (2006)

  • Professor Helen Saibil was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in May 2006. The Fellowship of the Royal Society is composed of 1284 of the most distinguished scientists from the United Kingdom, other Commonwealth countries and the Republic of Ireland. Fellows of the Royal Society are elected for life and designate themselves through the use of the letters FRS after their names. Fellows are elected through a peer review process that culminates in a vote by existing Fellows. The main criterion for election as a Fellow is scientific excellence.

Professor Michael Thompson: L.S. Theobald Lectureship (2006)


Dr James Sissons: Armitage Smith Memorial Prize (2005)

  • In recognition of his research into the interactions of a pathogen (Acanthamoeba) with the human blood-brain barrier under the supervision of Dr Naveed Khan
Professor Bonnie Wallace receiving AstraZeneca award

Professor Bonnie Wallace receiving AstraZeneca award

Share this page